Diocese of Hong Kong IslandDiocese of Hong Kong Island Diocese of Eastern KowloonDiocese of Eastern Kowloon Hong Kong Sheng Kung HuiHong Kong Sheng Kung Hui Diocese of Western KowloonDiocese of Western Kowloon Missionary Area of MacauMissionary Area of Macau

Cathedral Council

About the Council

The Cathedral Council provides the Dean and Trustees with support, advice and co-operation in conducting the work of the Cathedral.  The Council is chaired by the Dean and meets at the Cathedral every month.

The agenda for each meeting is prepared by the Honorary Secretary in consultation with the Dean. The Council divides into five committees, which meet separately and deal with an area of activities affecting the Cathedral:

Fabric & Furnishing Committee (F& F) – to look after matters regarding the maintenance and upgrade of the fabric, facility and property of the Cathedral.

Finance and General Purposes Committee (F&GP) – to look after the financial aspect of the Cathedral to support her ministry, programme and life of the Cathedral.

Outreach Committee – to develop, support and plan the outreach effort of the Cathedral.

Event Committee – to support the ministries of Lunchtime Recitals, Welcomers/Catering Group, Christians in Central, Cathedral Minders and Michaelmas Fair.

Joint Ministry Committee – to coordinate and support the ministries of liturgy and worship, mission and evangelism, communications and publicity, fellowship and congregational development,  nurture and spirituality, outreach, pastoral care, Chinese ministry and Filipino ministry and act as a think tank to address the concerns and deficiencies in the life of the Cathedral.

Each of these committees reports monthly to the Council.

Election to the Council


The Council is elected every year at the Annual Church Meeting. The 2019–2020 Council members were elected in Apr 2019.

Council Membership (2019-2020)



The Very Revd Matthias Der, Dean (Trustee and Chairman of the Council)

Mr Martin Matsui

Mr John Li

The Council

Mr Thomas Bispham

Mr John Breen

Dr Joseph Chan

Mrs Rita Chan

Dr Ting-kin Cheung

Mr James Choo

Ms Dolores Dayao

Ms Julianne Doe

Mr Patrick Fung

Mrs May Ho

Mr Adrian King

Ms Natalie Kwok

Mrs June Li

Mr Leo Li

Mr Craig Lindsay

Mr Ron Lye

Mr Edward Ng

Mr Martin Philip Rowe, JP

Ms Margaret Sang

Mr Michael Spencer

Mrs Alison Harada (Co-opted to Council)